Blog Tag Tour

http://www.amazon.com/Destination-Wedding-Sheryse-Noelle-DuBose/dp/1500474614/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1407873093&sr=8-1&keywords=Sheryse+Noelle+DuBose

Hi all! Thank you for inviting me to be a part of the Blog Tag Tour. I was tagged by Pamela E. Cash, author of the Chausiku Series, which consists so far, of two books. A third one is being written as we speak! Ms. Cash writes young adult and paranormal novels. I urge you to check out her website, chausikuseries.blogspot.com.

What am I working on?
Actually, I just finished a project two weeks ago entitled, Destination Wedding. The novel, set in the South Carolina Low Country, is more mainstream than my other two novels. So what happens when two vastly different families come together on a small coastal island for a wedding weekend? You’ll have to read Destination Wedding to see if Clay and Marissa join together in Holy Matrimony or if the challenges of the wedding prove to be too much.

For my next project, I am outlining a mystery like my first novel, The Promise of Palmettos.

How does my work differ from others in the genre?
Actually, my three books cover different genres. The Promise of Palmettos is a mystery, Marshland is Historical Fiction, and Destination Wedding is Contemporary Fiction. What the three novels have in common is that they are set in the South Carolina Low Country. What makes my work different is that the novels address the land issues that impact the native sea islanders, either as a central theme or indirectly.

Why do I write what I do?
I feel that this is an important question to answer. My father’s family is from Hilton Head. How they got there is told in my novel, Marshland. Although the story is fiction, there are some true aspects. The point is, each generation is witnessing the disappearance of sea island self-sufficiency and way of life, due to rapid development and the displacement of the native island population. Once everything is gone, there will be no one else to pass on the stories like my grandmother and father passed along to me. I feel that writing The Promise of Palmettos, Marshland, and even Destination Wedding, is a way of keeping those stories alive.

How does my writing process work?
Well, I make a list of characters and outline the story. Then I write a rough draft of the entire novel. I revise the novel to fill in gaps. I revise again. I edit, edit, edit. I’m editing right up until publication. Then I pray that my audience likes what I have written :).

So that is me and I am ready to tag my next blogger. You will really enjoy Evolving Elle, who writes about her experiences being a Southern Girl in the City. See what she is all about by clicking on evolvingelle.com.

Leave a Reply

