Palmetto Church

Last weekend, I attended the Black Heritage Festival in Savannah to promote ‘The Promise of Palmettos’ and ‘Marshland’ and was reminded of this post that I made of my first book signing over a year ago. In the spirit of Black History Month, I thought I would reblog my brief history lesson on the founding of Queen Chapel AME Church. My husband and I actually visited the church in Philadelphia where the AME denomination was born. Anyway, here is “The Palmetto Church” again.

Palmetto Author

.

20121227-182240.jpg
Last Saturday I had my first book signing for The Promise of Palmettos at Queen Chapel African Methodist Episcopalian Church. Considering my novel is about preservation and planning, it is only fitting that this monumental event in my life be held in this historical place. Queen Chapel is very significant in the unique timeline of Hilton Head Island. For one thing, at 147 years old, it is the first African Methodist Episcopalian Church established in South Carolina. As any teacher of history will tell you, not all noteworthy events that occur are intentional. With that being said, Hilton Head was actually not the intended site for the church. Missionaries led by Bishop Payne were traveling to Charleston on the steamship Arago when a storm wrecked the vessel, forcing them to land on the barrier island. The Bishop and the missionaries held their worship service under the live oak, which…

View original post 496 more words

Leave a Reply

