Going to Town

My Grandmama always called going to Savannah "Going to Town".

My Grandmama always called going to Savannah “Going to Town”.

When I was growing up, the roads coming off of the bridge toward Bluffton were two lanes.  Now they're six...

When I was growing up, the roads coming off of the bridge toward Bluffton were two lanes. Now they’re six…

When I was a teenager and this area was all trees, I was told by Hilton Head's first Black planner on that Bluffton would be lined with businesses within the next fifteen years...

When I was a teenager and this area was all trees, I was told by Hilton Head’s first Black planner on that Bluffton would be lined with businesses within the next fifteen years…

If you will allow me to put on my planner's hat for a moment, I would like to point out that businesses in this area have strict height, façade, and sign requirements.

If you will allow me to put on my planner’s hat for a moment, I would like to point out that businesses in this area have strict height, façade, and sign requirements.

Signs have to be a particular height and blend in with the unimposing façade.

Signs have to be a particular height and blend in with the unimposing façade.

During this stretch, the road to Savannah is untouched from when I was young. Dense trees line either side of the road.

During this stretch, the road to Savannah is untouched from when I was young. Dense trees line either side of the road.

As a former transportation planner, I still don't understand the reason for the sudden roundabout in the middle of Highway 46, but here it is...

As a former transportation planner, I still don’t understand the reason for the sudden roundabout in the middle of Highway 46, but here it is…

Although Georgia is the "Peach State," you can't go anywhere in South Carolina without running into a roadside peach stand...

Although Georgia is the “Peach State,” you can’t go anywhere in South Carolina without running into a roadside peach stand…

The Talmage Bridge looms in the distance. It's visible for a moment before hiding once again behind the landscape. It's the bridge's way of letting the motorist know that it's still there and in order to arrive at your destination of Savannah, GA, it must be crossed....  My design teacher at UNO taught me that road planners do this hide-and-seek with a prominent feature on purpose. It makes it interesting.

The Talmage Bridge looms in the distance. It’s visible for a moment before hiding once again behind the landscape. It’s the bridge’s way of letting the motorist know that it’s still there and in order to arrive at your destination of Savannah, GA, it must be crossed…. My design teacher at UNO taught me that road planners do this hide-and-seek with a prominent feature on purpose. It makes it interesting.

Talmage Bridge

The Talmage Bride used to be a smaller green drawbridge that ships used to hit because they couldn’t clear the structure. Now, it’s steeper, higher, and not for the faint of heart…

The Victory Drive Palm Trees in Savannah, GA is a three-mile long memorial for the servicemen who fought in World War I.

The Victory Drive Palm Trees in Savannah, GA are a three-mile long memorial for the servicemen who fought in World War I.

Fort Pulaski is a historical landmark that one might find on the way to Tybee Island.

Fort Pulaski is a historical landmark that one might find on the way to Tybee Island.

So this is the beach on Tybee Island.  Dad said that when he went to college at Savannah State College (University now), Black people were not allowed to go to the Beach here.  He said that it was fine with him because he knew where the best beach was and that was home on Hilton Head Island.  Soon the Black people in Savannah discovered that they were welcome on Hilton Head and went to the beach on the island by the busloads.  Well today, we are somewhat  welcome although I still prefer the beach of home.  No matter which beach I go to though, I feel like I'm standing on the edge of the earth as I look out at the horizon.

So this is the beach on Tybee Island. Dad said that when he went to college at Savannah State College (University now), Black people were not allowed to go to the Beach here. He said that it was fine with him because he knew where the best beach was and that was home on Hilton Head Island. Soon the Black people in Savannah discovered that they were welcome on Hilton Head and went to the beach on the island by the busloads. Well today, we are somewhat welcome although I still prefer the beach of home. No matter which beach I go to though, I feel like I’m standing on the edge of the earth as I look out at the horizon.

Leave a Reply

