Palmetto Landmarks

When I was a young girl, preparing to take our trip from Northern New Jersey to Hilton Head, I remember loading up the yellow two-door Buick Skylark, with suitcases, snacks, a thermos with coffee (these trips mostly started before dawn), and most importantly, toys. My mother always knew how to break up the monotony of the car trip by pointing to interesting landmarks. Along the New Jersey Turnpike, in the smokey distance we could see the unmistakable sentinel-like shapes of the World Trade Center and the Empire State Building.
empire-state-building-from-new-jersey-turnpike
As we passed through our Nation’s Capital, we spied the Washington monument, Lincoln Memorial, and all that good Greco-Roman “ah-kitecture”. Sometimes we would visit our cousin and her family in their coveted, authentic rowhouse, who lived a stone’s throw from the Howard University Campus. Then in Virginia, I noticed some landmarks on my own. The I-95 runs smack against the Main Street Station.
Richmond_Main_Street_Station_from_I-95_in_Virginia

Then there is the Marlboro Man Statute Thingy…
Marlboro Statue

I don’t remember any landmarks until South Carolina border and we weary travelers were greeted with the “Big Sombrero”.
border_sign

During our visits to Hilton Head, there was one of the landmarks that I insisted on visiting. The lighthouse. I had a thing for lighthouses. Well for one thing, I was surrounded by them. There was the one in my fishbowl, there was the little red one in the story that my parents read to me, and they pointed that same little red lighthouse under the George Washington Bridge every time we went into the city.
450px-Little_Red_Lighthouse,_Jeffrey's_Hook,_Manhattan,_New_York_-_20081004

On Hilton Head, I enjoyed the lighthouse at Harbor Town even before it became a well-known island symbol.
800px-Harbour_Town_July_2007

Landmarks on the island that are not so obvious are my family’s roadside fruit and vegetable stand and the site first Black free settlement called Mitchellville, not mention The Cherry Hill School, which was recently placed on the National Register of Historic Places.

My husband and I have taken our older son to the famed Harbor Town Lighthouse. We will probably visit it again, along with our younger son. Also on our sightseeing trip will be the historical places that just as a part of the island as the beaches and the restaurants. Hopefully, they’ll find it all interesting as well.

(Note: These photographs were taken from the Internet for informational purposes only. Its use is not for the purpose of profit.)

2 responses to “Palmetto Landmarks

  1. Pingback: Palmetto Christmas | authorsherysenoelledubose

  2. Pingback: The Promise of Palmettos | authorsherysenoelledubose

Leave a Reply

